Duck for Cover: Corey Feldman’s “Imagine”

Words cannot do this justice. The fact that this seems to be a completely straight-faced cover of one of the most iconic songs of its generation by the kid from Friday the 13th: The Final Chapter and Meatballs 4 makes me immensely happy.

The remarkable thing about this re-working is that on paper it seems like one of the worst ideas in all of music without any possibility of success, and yet in real life it’s even worse than you initially imagine (see what I did there?). From the first few bars you know this is going to be something special, something to savour and something of which John Lennon would be proud. Even the album cover is terrible, making him out to be some kind of badass music ninja – At first I thought the shadow on his forehead was a bandana. The album title is strategically placed in front of his mouth like some sort of gag, which I bet we all wish it was.

This is one of my favorite discoveries in all my time doing the radio show (full credit to my co-host George for finding it) and it makes me very happy to be able to enrich your lives by sharing it with you.

